Finding a Poem’s Geographical Location: Visual Mind-Mapping

Handmade book, with piece of bathing suit sewn on cover and

Tag-surfing one windy day, I stumbled on the headline: “How to Create Visuals When All You Have Is Words.”

It got me thinking about making my poetry more visual, and not necessarily by arranging the words in unique patterns on the pages – something I did in my Aquathoughts collection mostly written over a period of ten years from 1987-1997, and later made into handmade books.

As a poet I’ve tried to create pictures with words about:  scenes, physical sensations, even sounds – as with these lines taken from Hope written in 1989:

When he speaks I hear music,

Birds, blue feathered birds

Fly from his mouth, nestle settle round him…

Indeed, the first poem I ever wrote when I was a mere 10 years old was an attempt to recreate the tidal river I had lived on in Nova Scotia before moving, at the age of 9, to a logging village in Northern New Brunswick.

The LaHave River in front of our Nova Scotia home had offered a rocky shoreline, that when the tide was low, was covered with slippery, fawn-coloured seaweed and abundant tidal pools filled with mysterious life-forms left behind by the receding water.

I loved playing there. Popping the seaweed.  Dipping fingers in the tide-pools.   Examining empty shells and miniature crabs.

My poem called ‘C’ started off: “Down by the sea, that’s where I long to be…” and went on for a full page to describe both the tidal river itself and a 10-year old’s sentimental yearning to be back there.

Other of my poems try to make a physical experience visual.  As in this excerpt from Cycling with David about going for a cycle with a racer, and what happened when he gave me the experience of racing-speed on a bicycle

…the world melts

nature becomes liquid green

as the road beneath our wheels

spins into a fluid, grey river

As you explore this blog,you’ll find many of the poems about the Brighton-Hove seafront are an attempt to give the reader a visual experience. In an effort to bring those images to you, with some poems I’ve posted images of art work culled from the web, or my own photo archives, which seldom offers what I want!

But even thought Monet, or whomever, skilfully captured an image that resonates with the one I’ve tried to create with my words, I feel using their images is a cop-out. By not pushing myself to go the extra mile, to make my words a more complete sensory experience, I’m short-changing myself as an artist. I have a full range of digital media available to me, including audio, all of which can be used to create more complete poems.*(see comments)

So when I saw Dan Pieper’s How to Create Visuals When All You Have Are Words « Ideation & Its Geographic Location I pressed his page to save for later reading.

Dan talks about using a thesaurus to mind-map key words to come up with visuals for an advertising campaign. I teach language students to use a similar technique to help them retain new vocabulary. I’ve never thought of using it for poetry – until now.

When I visited Dan’s page and read his method and saw his visuals, a creative seed was planted. It’s still germinating. I’ll let you know when it sprouts.

Do you have any ideas or techniques you use to make your poetry more visual? Share your secrets?

Life is an amazing journey. http://www.alisonamazed.wordpress.com http://www.alisonboston.wordpress.com

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Poems, Poetry, PostADay2011
4 comments on “Finding a Poem’s Geographical Location: Visual Mind-Mapping
  1. alisonamazed says:

    Unlike my situation in 1987 when I wrote Techno Toys Blues, which almost 20 years later was recorded by Hungary’s Anima Sound System for their anti-global-corporate CD WeStrike and later released on Mole Records compilation CD Listening Pearls. On both Anima’s CD and Mole Records’, the song is re-titled as Technotoys Blues and credited to Anima Sound System which is really not very respectful of the boys, now is it? In any case, the thing is, I now have the technology I need to put out very modestly produced audio tracks and although this post has focused on visuals, I believe audio is just as important.

  2. danpieper says:

    Hi Alison,

    Thanks very much for the mention. I’m really glad you got something out of the exercise and I enjoyed reading your post.

  3. […] well ask.  In 1988 I made an art video, as it was called in those days; a video to accompany my swimming poems.  I filmed a competitive swimmer swimming butterfly, as well as freestyle,  looped some of the […]

Leave a Reply

Categories
  • Supper on the Fly
    Meal planning is my weakness. I’m proud that I planned this meal far enough in advance to take the home made baked beans out of the freezer to defrost. Did that this morning.  Wanted them to add to yesterday’s left-overs:…Read more ›
  • Today’s Lunch
    Last minute choice! Salmon and chopped egg with garlic scapes and chives, piled on slices of crispy light and dark rye toast slathered with melted butter!! Yum yum. For the salmon spread mix together: 1 diced garlic scape with 1…Read more ›
  • Three Sisters Chili 
    This chilli was a big suprise! I’d never had a squash chili, though after reading recipes with squash and beans, and looking at mouth-watering pictures, I had to try it. The result is a slightly nutty, almost parmesan taste! Ingredients…Read more ›
