Post-A-Day Top 3

Quiet

Image by Ian Sane via Flickr

Thought this would be easy, so even though I don’t usually join in the topic of the day, decided to cruise all my posts and choose the top 3, and I chose 6, so I have to eliminate…

1. Q is for Quiet Because I slaved over it and I like the final result.

2. Recipes from an Empty Fridge: Spinach Lasagne  Because I really like the story I wrote to intro the recipe.

3. C is for C*nt Because it caused so much controversy, yet created an opportunity with Happy Cell when I approached them about using their venue for voice and drama classes.

They set an appointment to meet me, I gave them the blog address, and just as I was leaving home to go to the appointment they rang to tell me they’d looked at my blog and didn’t think I was suitable to run a weekly class out of their venue! I asked why, and they said:

” Well a couple of your posts are not something we think our clients would want to be associated with.”

So I asked which ones, and immediately C is for C*nt was mentioned – but NOT ‘the C word’! I exclaimed:

“C is for CUNT!? You mean to tell me you are not interested in encouraging women to reclaim the slang word for vagina and cultivate a positive use of the word? Have you even read the post?”

To make a long story short, I suggested they read the blog and re-think their decision. I’ve never heard back from them!

YET….Blog Reading Opportunity+ Lurks Within Refusal:

Keep An Open Mind!

During the conversation – which was 30+ minutes – she did tell me if I wanted to rent the venue for a one-off weekend workshop, or even just for a weekend evening to sit and read my blog to an audience I could do that, but no, not to use their venue for a weekly class.  Hmmm…

I wonder if perhaps I should take her up on the offer to do a blog reading. I would enjoy it!

Would anybody come do you think?  How much could I ask on the door? Which blog posts would be best to read?  Should I get other bloggers and poets to join me?  Like my friends Annie, Lou Ice, SilverCat Punk Girl, and Bernadette Cremin? (Find links in blogroll.) Or should I keep it strictly bloggers? Lou Ice and Annie both post regularly, and Annie’s blog is BE-OO-TEE-FUL!!!  It would make for great visuals! 

Most searched…not sure if there’s a stat for that; this post is searched and viewed it seems everyday:

I is for Identity

Identity

Image via Wikipedia

Then there are the poems, especially the sea front poems, posted earlier in the year. A different thing altogether…

Sunset Starlings Dance at Dusk

A Saturday Seafront

River of Stones

swearing in cartoon

Image via Wikipedia

Patchy Internet=Patchy Posting  I’ve just moved home and won’t have new internet till May 12th so my connection will be patchy or not at all so I will be probably be absent from Post-A-Day until then! Sorry too much other internet work to do this evening, so I can’t write a mess of posts and schedule them,though I’ll probably write at home and connect – hopefully – through an open WIFI somewhere!  Though most in my neighbourhood are locked and double bolted!

This was supposed to be quick and I’ve spent almost 2 hours on it!!!! Messing with Zemanta and formatting! Will I ever learn?   Still not happy with the formatting, but it’ll have to do.  So much catch-up work to do, haven’t time to mess around like this – but I ENJOY it!

Tell me what do you think of the blog reading idea?

Life is an amazing journey. http://www.alisonamazed.wordpress.com http://www.alisonboston.wordpress.com

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in 2011 A-Z Blogging Challenge (Miscellany), Amazing, Blogging, Food, Poems, PostADay2011, Recipes From an Empty Fridge, River of Stones, Seafront
6 comments on “Post-A-Day Top 3
  1. Annie Kerr says:

    Thanks for your kind words about my blog! I feel like I’m missing some info here about this blog reading gig. Maybe it’s in a previous post that I’ve missed? Anyway, I’m curious as to how come you would read a blog to an audience?

  2. Sylvia says:

    This is great! I’m so glad I found you through the A to Z challenge. I look forward to visiting again.

  3. We did it! Congratulations! I have an award for you!!

Leave a Reply

Categories
  • Supper on the Fly
    Meal planning is my weakness. I’m proud that I planned this meal far enough in advance to take the home made baked beans out of the freezer to defrost. Did that this morning.  Wanted them to add to yesterday’s left-overs:…Read more ›
  • Today’s Lunch
    Last minute choice! Salmon and chopped egg with garlic scapes and chives, piled on slices of crispy light and dark rye toast slathered with melted butter!! Yum yum. For the salmon spread mix together: 1 diced garlic scape with 1…Read more ›
  • Three Sisters Chili 
    This chilli was a big suprise! I’d never had a squash chili, though after reading recipes with squash and beans, and looking at mouth-watering pictures, I had to try it. The result is a slightly nutty, almost parmesan taste! Ingredients…Read more ›
Follow this Blog!
