Breakfast on the Run: Spinach and Wakame Scramble

boiled Wakame ja:茹でたワカメ

Image via Wikipedia

DLCS Management liked my Cauliflower Parlsey Soup recipe, which sent me over to visit her blog where I found a kindred spirit writing about food and art and artists!

Dee has a post about Wakame sea vegetable with a recipe for salad which reminded me of my current favorite breakfasts!  This is a great scramble when you want a high protein meal to start your day.

Fat Burner

It’s worth mentioning sea vegetable helps burn that really unhealthy fat stored round your internal organs, so also reduces unwanted abdominal fat.  I do notice my tummy getting smaller since adding this to my diet.

Vegans can leave out the egg and for added protein, mix with quinoa.  If you make this for breakfast before going to work, you need to put the quinoa on to cook before you take your shower!  Or use some left overs.

Here’s the dope on this delicious, healthy breakfast.  These quantities will make enough scramble for 2 pitas or 2 wraps.
  • crush a dessertspoonful full of dried wakame and soak in hot water
  • slice ‘n’ dice a small clove of garlic and about 2 inches of leek
  • sauté together in a little oil in a non-stick pan
  • mash about 75 grams of tofu with a fork and add to the pan
  • sprinkle with a teensy weensy pinch of dried red-hot chili, salt ‘n’ pepper to taste, and a dash of soya sauce
  • stir it around with a spatula or spoon (whichever’s handy!)
  • chop a generous handful of spinach, chard, or other suitable green (cabbage will do, though not as delicate) and add to the pan
  • mix it all together
  • turn the heat down low, put a lid on it
  • make a cup of tea or coffee (to drink while you cook!)
  • drain the sea vegetable and squeeze out excess water, chop it up with a good sharp knife, or cut with kitchen scissors
  • pop your pita or preferred bread in the toaster
  • crack an egg on the side of the pan and stir it in, to scramble it
  • add the wakame (you don’t need to cook it)
  • sprinkle with seeds (linseed, hemp and pumpkin)
  • pop the toast – if you’re using bread, spread the scrambled mixture over the toast
  • sit down to eat

To eat on the run use pita:

    • Pop the pita in the toaster AFTER you add the egg (you just want to warm it up a bit to soften it).
    • Stuff the scramble in the pita, wrap in aluminum foil, dash out the door and eat it on the go.

Hope you finished your coffee!

It also works really well in a wrap:

  • Warm the wrap by placing it on top of the scrambled mixture for a minute or so, with the lid on, turn and warm the other side.
  • Lay the wrap out and place your scrambled mixture along one side.
  • Fold up the bottom, fold over the edge the scramble is on, then roll the wrap to completely enclose the scramble.
  • Wrap in aluminum foil and eat on the run.

You can also make a little package by folding in the two sides, then the bottom. But you have to sit down at home to eat that, because it falls all over the place.

Life is an amazing journey. http://www.alisonamazed.wordpress.com http://www.alisonboston.wordpress.com

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Alison Boston, Blogging, Food, Organic, PostADay2011, Recipes, Vegan, Vegetarian
18 comments on “Breakfast on the Run: Spinach and Wakame Scramble
  1. Thank you so much for the link and the recipe! Now I really can’t wait to jump to that Japanese supermarket and buy the dried version! I’m really not a breakfast person, not during the week at least..I nede to have time to make and enjoy my breakfast and during the week I’m not even awake yet when I leave the house. But good preparation is half the work and I still want to try quinoa again, so I’ll plan this breakfast wisely soon!

  2. Didn’t even think of theoption of making it for another moment of the day so thx for mentioning that! I absolutely love ginger too! 🙂

  3. Finally bought the dried stuff, will see what to do with it still.

  4. alisonamazed says:

    Just put a spoonful to soak in warm water. Let me know how it turns out.

  5. Will do. With all the Dutch festivities over here I’ve got sooo much leftovers to finish & today just a quick meal before training but this week for sure.

  6. *keeps on postponing… Had a beautiful culinary weekend and lots of partying again, so still no news. I do Body Combat, Body Balance and a bit of Kickboxing (for ladies that is. Not ready for the black eye at work). Today big dinner with friends..Maybe tomorrow.. I get up so early during the week that I basically only do breakfast in the weekends. Next year (YAY!) I’ve got to change some habits. I did get my love addicted to Gari, my other new love, so gotta pass by the japanese store again. Did you read my last blog about my Christmas present to myself? And the first reply? I’m so excited!

    Wish you a beasutiful, productive & tasty week!

  7. Did it, did it, did it, it was supertasty! I love it, this could pretty much be my new favourite vegetable! Goal for next year; incorporating wakame into the wight-losing process. I replied to you on my blog (Havana post).

  8. alisonamazed says:

    Bravo, well done! It’s absolutely my favorite! helps digestion too!

  9. So after an extensive wknd of party, booze,dancing, too little sleep and some of the Amsterdam pleasures, a power breakfast/brunch was needed on Sunday morning/afternoon. Everyone from TheCompany made something, so the brunch turned out to be a festive buffet full of vitamins to recover. From scrambled eggs with tomatoe, bread with wasabi, pineaple, cheeses, bacon and much more, to my experimental wakame salad.

    I have a question about that. I used 4 spoonfulls of dried wakame, added some fried sesame seeds, some chilli (It totally complements the wakame flavour!) and a good rice vinegar. Used to the Mediterranean salads, I needed oil in the “salad”, but I did not have any sesame-oil, no sunflower oil, no other Asian oil, I only had a homemade supergood Croatian olive oil, so I added some of that. This tasted beautifully, the company loved my salad, but I would like to know from you what oil you would you have used?

    • alisonamazed says:

      Sounds like I have to come and visit you in Amsterdam before you come here for a meal! And when I come, I’m staying for more than breakfast – I want the full wknd package! As for oil, I’ve never made a wakame salad! I only put wakame in other dishes. The only oils I have in my kitchen are olive and sunflower – though was looking at a bottle of sessame oil the other day thinking I should buy it just to have on the odd occasion I want something different. So the answer to your ? I would have used olive. I may enjoy cooking, but my kitchen is pretty basic – a result of having moved so frequently with only a couple of suitcases – forcing me to leave behind books, CD’s, and a full range of spices. I got to the point where I’d make do with the basics – just so I would have less to pack and move. It taught me how to make delicious meals with minimal resources.

      • Hmm.. perhaps I should move to cut down on stuff & belongings but I’m happy in Ams for the moment. My place sounds like the opposite of yours…I collected soooo much things in the last 10 yrs and you know what? All those sleepovers & my huge kitchen & lots of kitchen equipment & spices collection, my cat & partner & I all fit in no more than 30m2. 🙂 It’s cozy. I would have used sesame oil if i had any but (good) olive oil tastest good with anything.

  10. There’s the “and”-sign missing up there

  11. alisonamazed says:

    “and” sign missing where? It doesn’t matter for heaven’s sake. You’re not Danish are you? I met this Danish guy who was OCD about stuff like that – wonder if it’s a Scandanavian characteristic as a result of your education system? or was he just OCD? course I’m a bit OCD about stuff like myself, so who I am to criticize or judge? Anyhoo – I heard Antony Mayfield speak in September – he wrote a book called Me and My Web Shadow – and he said when you do stuff on the web you should leave little mistakes, that your blog posts shouldn’t be typo perfect. Not sure I agree, but hearing him say it has enabled me to leave a few typos etc.
    !?*✂✂✂✂✂✂✂✂✂✂✂✂✂✂✂✂
    Oh by the way – yes – moving is a great way to cut down on stuff! 30m2 is tiny for 2 people. Not sure how many m2 I have here…maybe 40. I lived in 30m2 when I first moved to Budapest. It was very small after Canada.

  12. Ha ha had to google OCD…nope no such problems here. No danish blood either. Dutch passport with South American & Asian roots & a passion for the Balkans 🙂 Did Mr Mayfield mention why to leave typo’s? I don’t luckily have to practise for that, usually have a typo or 2 😉

    • alisonamazed says:

      …think he said something like “it’s a blog, it’s not print” – at least that’s the sense I got from it, so whether or not that’s what he said, that’s the message I got! And communication is the responsibility of both sender and receiver, right?

Leave a Reply

Categories
  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
