Soup From Mom’s Kitchen

Yam in a market

Yams at Brixton Market. Image via Wikipedia.

by June Boston

I’m not a ‘natural’ cook as is my daughter Alison. In fact I’ve always said my three offspring learned to cook in sheer self-defense!   I’ve never been one for cooking shows on TV but Alison’s blog and all her recipes has got me paying more attention to cooking (and I confess, watching the occasional cooking show!)   On this particular day, I was intrigued by this recipe for leek, yam and potato soup – and actually made it!  I felt so virtuous making soup from scratch. My soup usually comes in a can or package!

Ingredients

The softer, orange-fleshed variety of sweet po...

Sweet potato. Image via Wikipedia

  • 2 T butter (vegans substitute margarine)
  • 1 1/2 cups leeks halved washed well and sliced
  • 2 T garlic finely chopped
  • 2 T oregano
  • 1 tea sp salt
  • 1/2 tea sp. pepper
  • 1 tea sp. coriander
  • 1 large yam peeled and sliced * 
  • 2 med. potatoes roughly chopped
  • 2 1/2 cups veg. broth or water

Add butter and leeks to a medium pot, pre-heated on medium heat.  Sweat (sauté without browning) the leeks for a few minutes, stir occasionally.

Add garlic, oregano, salt, pepper and coriander and sauté for another 2 mins.

Add yams, potatoes and veg. broth/water. Bring to boil, reduce heat to medium low Simmer until yams and potatoes are cooked and soft then remove pot from heat and cool for 5 mins.

Add to blender and purée until smooth

VERY filling!!

* Ed’s Note: I don’t think they mean yams as big as the ones from Brixton Market! I think they mean Sweet Potatoes.  If you’re confused, read Jennifer Ward Pelar’s guest post for all the dope on Yams.

When I got to the “put-in blender” part I could not find the blender. Searched high and low. Eventually found, at the back of one of the kitchen cupboards, a hand blender which Alison had bought whilst living in Victoria and given me when she moved away.  I said I didn’t want it, that I had a blender, she insisted I take it, said it was easier to clean-up and I would find it useful.  It did a fine job.  Can’t believe I’ve never used it till now!  She gave it to me over 10 years ago!
It’s true, Mother’s meals were not something we kids got excited about, and I learned to cook mostly because I love good food.  Tinned soup was all we got when I was growing up, except when we had turkey, then Dad would make a delicious soup from the left over carcass.

 

Life is an amazing journey. http://www.alisonamazed.wordpress.com http://www.alisonboston.wordpress.com

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Alison Boston, Food, Recipes, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Categories
  • Today’s Lunch
    Last minute choice! Salmon and chopped egg with garlic scapes and chives, piled on slices of crispy light and dark rye toast slathered with melted butter!! Yum yum. For the salmon spread mix together: 1 diced garlic scape with 1…Read more ›
  • Three Sisters Chili 
    This chilli was a big suprise! I’d never had a squash chili, though after reading recipes with squash and beans, and looking at mouth-watering pictures, I had to try it. The result is a slightly nutty, almost parmesan taste! Ingredients…Read more ›
  • Fish Stuffed Tomatoes
    What we had for supper tonight! 3 very ripe beefy tomatoes 4 pieces frozen cod 1 small piece of salmon About 1/3 bunch cilantro 1 green onion Cut the tops off the tomatoes and dig out the innards. You’ll need…Read more ›
