Red Cabbage Salad

First salad I made after breaking my two arms – yes, I broke both arms last August, riding my bicycle. Braked and swerved to avoid hitting another cyclist who appeared on a cross path – traveling at a terrific pace. I was on a dirt path, coming down a short, steep hill. Broke my bones when my body hit the dirt. I was taken to ER in an ambulance, where after waiting 5 hours I was told I had a broken left wrist and a broken right elbow. I was incapacitated.  Fortunately I was with a friend at the time, a very good friend, who stayed with me for a few days and helped me; and came back every day and helped. It took a while to get the use of my arms back, and one of the things I missed most (besides playing my ukulele and doing yoga) was my own cooking!

As I gradually regained use of my arms, I was so hungry for one of my special salads. I needed to nourish my arms, feed my body with good bone building food, and tend my gut at the same time.  So I made this cabbage salad.

You’ll notice it calls for leeks, and there’s no onion. That’s because my friend – who looked after me with my broken arms – has an aversion to onions. He can eat them, he just doesn’t like them (hmmm). Sometimes I sneak them into cooked dishes, but raw salads take mincing it so fine it’s unrecognizable and you only get a trace of the flavor – whereas leeks work with the other ingredients like a mild onion, and impart a wonderful taste.

Toss together:

  • half a head, small red cabbage, thinly sliced, about 3 cups loosely packed
  • about 1 1/2 cup thinly sliced leek, include green top
  • about 1 1/2 cup thinly sliced fennel, use the whole thing, heart, stalk and feathery top
  • 1 large carrot, grated – about 2 cups
  • about 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 large clove garlic, finely diced
  • about 1 and 1/2 tablespoons finely diced fresh ginger

Set aside to marinate.

Roast together for 30 minutes in a 250F oven:

  • 2 T raw cashews
  • 2 T raw almonds
  • 2 T raw pumpkin seeds
  • 2 T raw sunflower seeds
  • 2 T raw sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp red chili flakes
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 T sesame oil
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 6 Brazil nuts

Add roasted nuts to cabbage mixture, toss and serve.

Yum! Delish!

I thought: “This is such a beautiful, colorful salad – take a picture, quick.”  But alas, we ate it all before I could get up from the table to get the device – tossed aside in favor of face-to-face interaction with another human being. It happens a lot at my table, so that’s why there isn’t always a picture.

Life is an amazing journey. http://www.alisonamazed.wordpress.com http://www.alisonboston.wordpress.com

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in 2016 Food 'n Recipes, A-Z, Alison Boston, Recipes, Recipes from the Veggie Box, Vegan, Vegetarian
One comment on “Red Cabbage Salad
  1. Arlee Bird says:

    I’ve made red cabbage slaw, but nothing as elaborate as your recipe. Sounds good!

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

Leave a Reply

Categories

  • Supper on the Fly
    Meal planning is my weakness. I’m proud that I planned this meal far enough in advance to take the home made baked beans out of the freezer to defrost. Did that this morning.  Wanted them to add to yesterday’s left-overs:…Read more ›
  • Today’s Lunch
    Last minute choice! Salmon and chopped egg with garlic scapes and chives, piled on slices of crispy light and dark rye toast slathered with melted butter!! Yum yum. For the salmon spread mix together: 1 diced garlic scape with 1…Read more ›
  • Three Sisters Chili 
    This chilli was a big suprise! I’d never had a squash chili, though after reading recipes with squash and beans, and looking at mouth-watering pictures, I had to try it. The result is a slightly nutty, almost parmesan taste! Ingredients…Read more ›
Follow this Blog!
